Upper School (8-12)

Administration

Jennifer Shelton
jshelton@hawbridgeschool.org
Director
M.A., Slavic Languages and Literatures, UNC Chapel Hill
B.A., Political Science and Russian, Magna Cum Laude, Vanderbilt University

Emily Martin
emartin@hawbridgeschool.org
Assistant Director
M.Ed., School Counseling, UNC Chapel Hill
B.A., Philosophy, Sociology, Guilford College

Zoë Nahatis
znahatis@hawbridgeschool.org
School Counselor
M.Ed., School Counseling, UNC Chapel Hill
B.S., Psychology/Anthropology, Fordham University

Judith Garbus
jgarbus@hawbridgeschool.org
Office Manager


Faculty


Daniel Ayers
dayers@hawbridgeschool.org
Civic Literacy, Social Studies 8, World History
B.A., History (concentration in Peace and Justice Studies), Summa Cum Laude, Roanoke College

Claire Daniel
cdaniel@hawbridgeschool.org
Art, Upper School
B.F.A., Design, UNC Greensboro
Art Education, Teacher Licensure Program, UNC Greensboro

Kevin Duke
kduke@hawbridgeschool.org
AP Calculus, Math I, Math IV, Pre-Calculus
B.S., Mathematics, Cum Laude, Elon University

Jonathan Farmer
jfarmer@hawbridgeschool.org
English I, English II
M.F.A., Poetry Writing, UC Irvine
B.A., English, Summa Cum Laude, UNC Chapel Hill

Kevin Ferris
kferris@hawbridgeschool.org
Civics, AP Psychology, Theatre
B.A., Political Science, Wake Forest University
PRESETT-Certified High School Theater Manager Certification

Laura Francini
lfrancini@hawbridgeschool.org
Math 8, NC Math 1
B.S., Mathematics/Computer Science, UNC Chapel Hill

Robert Greenberg
rgreenberg@hawbridgeschool.org
Science 8, Earth and Environmental Science, AP Environmental Science
M.S., Science Education, Montana State University
Secondary Science Certification, University of Vermont
B.S., Geology, West Virginia University

Christina Hairston
chairston@hawbridgeschool.org
Music, Upper & Lower School
B.A., Music Education, UNC Greensboro

Jeremy Hammond
jhammond@hawbridgeschool.org
Exceptional Children Teacher
B.A., Psychology/History, Keene State College

Robert Howes
rhowes@hawbridgeschool.org
Mandarin Chinese, Civic Literacy, AP U.S. History
Master of Planning in Public Affairs, Hubert H. Humphrey Institute of Public Affairs
B.A., History, University of Michigan-Ann Arbor

Jack Hunter
jhunter@hawbridgeschool.org
Math II, Math III
M.A.T., UNC Chapel Hill
B.S., Mathematics, North Carolina State University

Sabrina Kauffmann
skauffmann@hawbridgeschool.org
Exceptional Children Teacher
M.Ed., Secondary Education, English, Arizona State
M.A., American History, UNC Charlotte
B.A., History, Cum Laude, UNC Charlotte

Christopher Lipscomb
clipscomb@hawbridgeschool.org
Outdoor Leadership, Hawbridge Outdoors
Master of Liberal Studies, Sociology: Cultural Studies, Fort Hays State University
B.A., Liberal Studies, Thomas Edison State College
Certificate, Outdoor Leadership-Wilderness Therapy, Southwestern Community College

Caroline Luther
cluther@hawbridgeschool.org
American History I, American History II, World History
M.A., History, Yale University
B.A., Summa Cum Laude, History and Political Science, Rutgers University

Tony Mayer
tmayer@hawbridgeschool.org
Health & PE
M.S., Ecology, UNC Chapel Hill
B.S., Botany, Summa Cum Laude, NC State University

Jennifer McDuffie
jmcduffie@hawbridgeschool.org
Spanish 1, 2, 3, 4; AP Spanish Language
M.A.T., Spanish, University of Georgia
B.S.Ed., Foreign Language Education – Spanish, Cum Laude, University of Georgia

Elizabeth Osborne
eosborne@hawbridgeschool.org
Health Services; Yearbook, Internship Program
B.A., Interdisciplinary Studies, UNC Chapel Hill
A.A., Peace College
A.S., Nursing, Guilford Tech CC

Cameron Ratliff
cratliff@hawbridgeschool.org
Middle School Speech and Debate; English I, English III
NC Teach at NC State, High School English Teacher Certification
B.A., English/Anthropology, with Highest Honors and Highest Distinction, UNC Chapel Hill

Liz Stabenow
estabenow@hawbridgeschool.org
Science 8, Biology
M.A., Education, University of Phoenix
M.E.M., Conservation Biology, Nicholas School of the Environment, Duke University
B.A., Natural Sciences, Bard College at Simon’s Rock

Tiana Thornton
tthornton@hawbridgeschool.org
Exceptional Children Staff
B.S., Psychology, Mercy College

Sara Walls
swalls@hawbridgeschool.org
ELA 8, Creative Writing, English IV
B.A., English, University of Mary Washington