Upper School (7-12)

 

Jennifer Shelton
jshelton@hawbridgeschool.org
she/her
M.A., Slavic Languages and Literatures, UNC-Chapel Hill
B.A., Political Science and Russian, Magna Cum Laude, Vanderbilt University
Upper School Director (7-12)
Instructor, AP English Literature & Composition


 

Faculty

Zack Champion
zchampion@hawbridgeschool.org
he/him

B.A., International and Comparative Politics, Appalachian State University
Social Studies 8, Civics

Virginia Danford
vdanford@hawbridgeschool.org
she/her
M.F.A., Acting, Pennsylvania State University
B.F.A., Theatre, West Virginia University
Theatre

Claire Daniel
cdaniel@hawbridgeschool.org
she/her
B.F.A., Design, UNC Greensboro
Art Education, Teacher Licensure Program, UNC Greensboro
Art

Ashleigh Denny
adenny@hawbridgeschool.org
she/her
M.A., History, UNC-Wilmington, currently attending
B.S., Education, History, UNC-Greensboro
AP Reader, Human Geography
Social Studies 7-8, Civics, AP Human Geography

Kevin Duke
kduke@hawbridgeschool.org
he/him
AP Calculus, Math I, Math IV, Pre-Calculus
B.S., Mathematics, Cum Laude, Elon University
Math IV, Sports Math, Pre-calculus, AP Calculus

Jonathan Farmer
jfarmer@hawbridgeschool.org
he/him
M.F.A., Poetry Writing, University of California at Irvine
B.A., English, Summa Cum Laude, UNC-Chapel Hill
ELA 7, English II

Charles Fiore
cfiore@hawbridgeschool.org
he/him
M.A., Writing, Northwestern University
B.A., Theatre Arts, Sewanee: The University of the South
English I, 7-8 Creative Writing

Robert Greenberg
rgreenberg@hawbridgeschool.org
he/him
M.S., Science Education, Montana State University
Secondary Science Certification, University of Vermont
B.S., Geology, West Virginia University
Science 7, Earth and Environmental Science, AP Environmental Science

Robert Howes
rhowes@hawbridgeschool.org
he/him
Master of Planning in Public Affairs, Hubert H. Humphrey Institute of Public Affairs
B.A., History, University of Michigan-Ann Arbor
Social Studies 7, AP U.S. History

Jack Hunter
jhunter@hawbridgeschool.org
he/they
M.A.T., UNC Chapel Hill
B.S., Mathematics, North Carolina State University
Math II, Math III

Kierca Kimbel
kkimbel@hawbridgeschool.org
she/her
B.A. Sociology with Teaching Certification, Berea College
Math 7, 8

Kristen Kowzan
kkowzan@hawbridgeschool.org
she/her
M.A., Higher Education: Adult Developmental Education
B.A., Social Science with a Minor in Mathematics, Magna Cum Laude, Honors College, University of South Florida
Math I

Christopher Lipscomb
clipscomb@hawbridgeschool.org
he/him
Master of Liberal Studies, Sociology: Cultural Studies, Fort Hays State University
B.A., Liberal Studies, Thomas Edison State College
Certificate, Outdoor Leadership-Wilderness Therapy, Southwestern Community College
Certificate, Forestry Management Technology/Natural Resource Specialist, Haywood Community College
Outdoor Leadership, Hawbridge Outdoors

Caroline Luther
cluther@hawbridgeschool.org
she/her
M.A., History, Yale University
B.A., Summa Cum Laude, History and Political Science, Rutgers University
World History, American History, English IV

Tony Mayer
tmayer@hawbridgeschool.org
he/they/we
M.S., Ecology, UNC Chapel Hill
B.S., Botany and Horticulture, Summa Cum Laude, NC State University
Permaculture Design Certificate
Wilderness First Responder
Health & PE, HS Horticulture, 7-8 Sustainability

Jennifer McDuffie
jmcduffie@hawbridgeschool.org
she/her
M.A.T., Spanish, University of Georgia
B.S.Ed., Foreign Language Education – Spanish, Cum Laude, University of Georgia
Spanish 1, 3, 4; AP Spanish Language

Zoë Nahatis
znahatis@hawbridgeschool.org
she/her
M.Ed., School Counseling, UNC Chapel Hill
B.S., Psychology/Anthropology, Fordham University
School Counselor

Elizabeth Osborne
eosborne@hawbridgeschool.org
she/her
B.A., Interdisciplinary Studies, UNC Chapel Hill
A.A., Peace College
A.S., Nursing, Guilford Tech CC
LIFE 7-8, Yearbook, Internship Program

Ruth Pershing
rpershing@hawbridgeschool.org
she/her
B.A., Earth Science, Wesleyan University
Science & Math Education, Teacher Licensure Program, UNC-Chapel Hill
Science 8, Physical Science, Chemistry

Cameron Ratliff
cratliff@hawbridgeschool.org
she/her
M.A., English Literature, UNC-Greensboro
NC Teach at NC State, High School English Teacher Certification
B.A., English & Anthropology, with Highest Honors and Highest Distinction, UNC Chapel Hill
Assistant Director, Business and Communications
English III

Liz Stabenow
estabenow@hawbridgeschool.org
she/her
M.A., Education, University of Phoenix
M.E.M., Conservation Biology, Nicholas School of the Environment, Duke University
B.A., Natural Sciences, Bard College at Simon’s Rock
Science 7-8, Biology

Sara Walls
swalls@hawbridgeschool.org
she/they
B.A., English, University of Mary Washington
ELA 8, Creative Writing, English II