2020-2021 Faculty

hblogojust-iconSMOur highly qualified, deeply committed faculty includes scientists, mathematicians, a composer, writers, editors, performers, visual artists, graphic designers, and a local (very local) radio personality–all of them highly accredited and committed to research-driven education.


Administrators may be found here.

Daniel Ayers
dayers@hawbridgeschool.org
Social Studies 6, Social Studies 8, Saxapahaw Studies
B.A., History, concentration in Peace and Justice Studies, Summa Cum Laude, Roanoke College

Jana Cartner
jcartner@hawbridgeschool.org
Fourth Grade
M.Ed. in Gifted Education, Elon University
Post-Baccalaureate Certificate: NC Teach Licensure, UNC Greensboro
B.A. in English, UNC Greensboro

Sarah Cornette
scornette@hawbridgeschool.org
Art 6; MS Art; Art I, II, III, IV
M.A., Art Therapy, Naropa University
B.F.A., Art Education, UNC Greensboro
B.A., Studio Art and Writing, Oberlin College
National Board Certification; Fulbright Distinguished Teacher

Shanee Cowland
scowland@hawbridgeschool.org
Math 8, Science 6, Chemistry, Physical Science, AP Physics
M.S.Ed., Educational Leadership, Indiana University
M.S., Information Systems, University of Liverpool
PGCE., Middle School Education Certification, University of Cambridge
B.S., Physics for New Technology, with honors, University of Liverpool

Kevin Duke
kduke@hawbridgeschool.org
Math I, Pre-Calculus, Math IV, AP Calculus
B.S., Mathematics, Cum Laude, Elon University

Nancy Dunevant
ndunevant@hawbridgeschool.org
Office Manager

Jonathan Farmer
jfarmer@hawbridgeschool.org
ELA 7, English II, English IV
M.F.A., Poetry Writing, UC Irvine
B.A., English, Summa Cum Laude, UNC-Chapel Hill

Kevin Ferris
kferris@hawbridgeschool.org
Middle School Theater, High School Theater, Civics
B.A., Political Science, Wake Forest University
International Baccalaureate Certification; PRESETT Certified Theater Manager

Robert Greenberg
rgreenberg@hawbridgeschool.org
Science 8, Physics First, Earth and Environmental Science, AP Earth and Environmental Science
M.S., Science Education, Montana State University
Secondary Science Certification, University of Vermont
B.S., Geology, West Virginia University

Christina Hairston
chairston@hawbridgeschool.org
Music, grades 4-12

Jeremy Hammond
jhammond@hawbridgeschool.org
Exceptional Children Teacher
B.A. Social Sciences, Psychology/History, Keene State College

Robert Howes
rhowes@hawbridgeschool.org
Social Studies 7, Mandarin Chinese, AP U.S. History
Master of Planning in Public Affairs, Hubert H. Humphrey Institute of Public Affairs
B.A., History, University of Michigan-Ann Arbor

Jack Hunter
jhunter@hawbridgeschool.org
Math 8, Math II, Math III
M.A.T., UNC-Chapel Hill
B.S., Mathematics, North Carolina State University

Sabrina Kauffmann
skauffmann@hawbridgeschool.org
6th and 7th grade EC teacher
M.Ed. Secondary Education, English, Arizona State
M.A., American History, UNC-Charlotte
B.A., History, Cum Laude, UNC-Charlotte

Kierca Kimbel
kkimbel@hawbridgeschool.org
Math 6, Math 7, Middle School Computer Science
B.A. Sociology with Teaching Certification, Berea College

Christopher Lipscomb
clipscomb@hawbridgeschool.org
4th and 5th grade PE, Outdoor Skills, Outdoor Leadership, Hawbridge Outdoors
Master of Liberal Studies, Sociology: Cultural Studies, Fort Hays State University
Certificate, Outdoor Leadership-Wilderness Therapy, Southwestern Community College
B.A., Liberal Studies, Thomas Edison State College

Joan Love
jlove@hawbridgeschool.org
Exceptional Children Teacher
M.Ed., Special Education, Elon University
B.S., Elementary Education K-6, North Carolina A&T State University
National Board Certification

Caroline Luther
cluther@hawbridgeschool.org
American History I, American History II, World History
M.A., History, Yale University
B.A., Summa Cum Laude, History and Political Science, Rutgers University

Emily Martin
emartin@hawbridgeschool.org
School Counselor
M.Ed., School Counseling, UNC-Chapel Hill
B.A., Philosophy, Sociology, Guilford College

Tony Mayer
tmayer@hawbridgeschool.org
Health & PE
M.S., Ecology, UNC-Chapel Hill
B.S., Botany, Summa Cum Laude, NC State University

Jennifer McDuffie
jmcduffie@hawbridgeschool.org
Spanish 1, 2, 3, 4; AP Spanish Language
M.A.T., Spanish, University of Georgia
B.S.Ed., Foreign Language Education – Spanish, Cum Laude, University of Georgia

Colby McKenzie
cmckenzie@hawbridgeschool.org
Fifth Grade
B.A., Elementary Education, minor in History, UNC Greensboro

Elizabeth Osborne
eosborne@hawbridgeschool.org
Health Services; Life Skills, Internship Program
B.A., Interdisciplinary Studies, UNC-Chapel Hill
A.A., Peace College
A.S., Nursing, Guilford Tech CC

Cameron Ratliff
cratliff@hawbridgeschool.org
Middle School Speech and Debate; English I, English III
NC Teach at NC State, High School English Teacher Certification
B.A., English and Anthropology, with Highest Honors and Highest Distinction, UNC-Chapel Hill

Liz Stabenow
estabenow@hawbridgeschool.org
Science 7, Biology, Haw River Ecology
M.A., Education, University of Phoenix
M.E.M., Conservation Biology, Nicholas School of the Environment, Duke University
B.A., Natural Sciences, Bard College at Simon’s Rock

Tiana Thornton
tthornton@hawbridgeschool.org
Exceptional Children Staff
B.S., Psychology, Mercy College

Sara Walls
swalls@hawbridgeschool.org
ELA 6, ELA 8, Creative Writing
B.A., English, University of Mary Washington

 

 


Non-discrimination Policy
No one at The Hawbridge School may be discriminated against for reasons of race, age, gender, socioeconomic status, physical appearance, intellectual ability, ethnic group, religion, disability, or sexual preference.